Bangladesh team for the ICC World Twenty20 announced

Thursday, August 9, 2007

The Bangladesh squad for the ICC World Twenty20 to be held in South Africa was announced today (Thursday) with a host of new faces making the team for this exciting tournament.

The side, led by Mohammad Ashraful, has a number of explosive batsmen and allrounders. Apart from the proven ones like Ashraful, Tamim Iqbal and Aftab Ahmed the new faces in the batting line-up are Junaed Siddique Imroz, Nazim Uddin and Nadif Chowdhury, all with a reputation of big-hitting.

Shakib Al Hasan, Farhad Reza and Mahmudullah Riyad are the all-rounders in the side. The bowling department will be led by Mashrafe Mortaza, Syed Rasel and left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak. Paceman Ziaur Rahman is a fresh addition.

Mohammad Ashraful (Captain), Masrafe Bin Mortaza (Vice-Captain), Alok Kapali, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed Chowdhury, Syed Rasel, Forhad Reza, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Junaed Siddique Imroz, Nazim Uddin, Nadif Chowdhury, Ziaur Rahman