No Sponsor Yet BCB names all 16 committees

Thursday, August 16, 2007

A marathon meeting of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), the third of the ad-hoc committee, yesterday completed formation of its 16 standing committees.

Only the top two persons of the standing committees had been named after the board's first meeting and the complete committees feature cricket personalities like coach Jalal Ahmed Chowdhury (operations committee), former national cricketers Jahangir Shah Badshah (tournament committee), GS Hassan Tamim (game development committee), Selim Shahed (finance committee) and Tanjib Ahsan Saad (umpires' committee).

With more pending issues on the agenda, there was hardly any progress in matters like new sponsor of the national team and their new coach.

Media committee chairman Ahmed Sajjadul Alam Bobby, however, took a break from the meeting last night to inform reporters that the board expected to reach a concrete decision about a coach by early September.

"Whether we are to add more candidates to the short-list of three or not would be settled next month," told Bobby.

"We have also decided to stick to the plans of the last executive committee about domestic cricket but a committee will be formed with ex players, coaches and organisers to look after the pros and cons of the programmes. They will also try to give a long term strategic formula to improve the standard of domestic cricket," he added.

It was learnt that although no tender was submitted to sponsor the clothing of the Tigers, three different companies bade to become the national team's official sponsor after GrameenPhone's contract ended last July.

The board has yet to get a sponsor for the ICC Twenty20 World Championship also.