Mehrab to lead Academy

Thursday, August 16, 2007

Left-handed opener Mehrab Hossain was named the skipper of the Bangladesh Academy team for the Australia tour, scheduled at the end of August.
The Bangladesh Cricket Board announced a 15-member squad for the three-week tour following an executive committee meeting on Thursday. Another left-hander Nasiruddin Faruque will be his deputy, said the BCB.
The meeting also approved the lists of its 16 standing committees and also discussed sponsorship of the national squad during the Twenty20 World Cup.
Three companies have participated in the tender to become official team sponsor during the tournament and BCB officials were expected to choose one when this report was being filed.
Academy squad: Mehrab Hossain (captain), Nasiruddin Faruque (vice-captain), Jahirul Islam, Imrul Kayes, Raqibul Hasan, Sohrawardy Shuvo, Shaghir Hossain, Dollar Mahmud, Talha Jubair, Nazmul Hossain, Mahbubul Alam, Mosharaf Hossain, Dhiman Ghosh, Naim Islam.